releasing of sankharas/algorithms (and enlightenment)

rano, modified 5 Years ago at 3/1/19 3:40 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/1/19 3:40 AM

releasing of sankharas/algorithms (and enlightenment)

I'm new to this, so hopefully this post/question lands in the appropriate place.

First a little background: I first got exposed to meditation via U Ba Khin/Goenka-style vipassana retreats almost 3 decades ago, but only started with daily practice since end 2015. I don't follow mechanically the techniques/instructions but explore, based on my experiences, readings etc. One bit of theory I related to both conceptually and practically is the idea of sankharas, which I loosely understood as algorithms (esp. dysfunctional ones), to be removed from one's body-mind construct. I like the term "algorithm" because of its simplicity as lines of code that trigger an action, usually executed automatically. (This is relevant for the rest of the post; whether the algorithms are active or dormant, functional or not depending on circumstances, etc. is not.)
I recently finished Daniel Ingram's MCTB2, which has been an important eye-opener, making me realize that the meditation universe was even broader than I thought and that there were more tools/techniques available.

In the book and elsewhere (e.g. a podcast/discussion between Daniel Ingram and Robert Wright), there are divergent views about the definition of enlightenment:
a) A definition based on relatively precise criteria, e.g. using the ñana map, what has been attained by the person, paths, fruitions. That this person may behave in a way considered by many as immoral is, technically, irrelevant.
b) Another definition based more on the actual behavior (and possible inner state of mind/intentions) of the person, a "higher than average" morality that would be the "proof in the pudding" (with the difficulties of the relativity of morality, but that is not the point here).