Concentration lapse on Mahasi retreat

fdsafdsfsdf, modified 4 Years ago at 6/8/19 9:06 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 6/8/19 9:04 PM

Concentration lapse on Mahasi retreat

Hi, total newbie here, and currently on a month long Mahasi retreat, approaching 10 days. Don’t want to be on my phone but I could use some guidance.

After getting kicked in the ass for being goal oriented and giving up that mindset several times, at least currently I’m at a place where I’m just noticing what’s in the present moment. Not trying to get streamentry or figure out where I am in the maps anymore or whatever (if you believe me). “A Clear Goal” is a lot, lot more relatable now.

The problem is my concentration has completely tanked. I was doing great on the first few days and got my longest rapture yet if that’s any measure (~30 sec), but I’m just not able to stay focused, or even gain focus at all. No matter how many times I make the strong resolve “okay, I am going put everything I have into concentrating on the abdomen for the next ten breaths”, I get lost at like the second breath. I keep getting unknowingly lost in thoughts, and haven’t been able to build up any momentum for days.

No matter what I’ll stick it out and continue, and I’m trying to work with it, but at this point it feels like I’m just wasting time. My attention is simply not functioning at all, and at least currently I don’t see how I could be putting in more effort.

My questions are:
1. Would it be in some way bad or not worth it to stop noting and just concentrate during the sitting meditations, using the walking sessions and the rest of my time for noting?
2. Would it be in some way bad or not worth it to switch to focusing on upper lip rather than abdomen? I’m thinking it might be better because it’s more subtle, so it would seem to better cultivate focus?
Or would these two be treason and for some weird supramundane reason cause me to explode or something? Any other tips?