Is someone willing to diagnose my practice?

thumbnail
Griffin, modified 4 Years ago at 6/9/19 8:33 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 6/9/19 8:32 AM

Is someone willing to diagnose my practice?

Hi guys,

I’m a TMI practitioner curious whether my practice can be “diagnosed” with insight stage criteria. I have some basic knowledge about Progress of Insight, but not in depth. I was wandering whether some experienced MCTB practitioner could estimate whether there’s any nanas involved in my practice. I hope someone will have patience for me here emoticon

Current practice: Daily 45 minutes of modified TMI practice. Basically: I count my breaths, for example, saying “1” after the in-breath, as an “evidence” that the in-breath has been in my experience. I perceive the breath as a monolith sensation, without trying to investigate the details. When attention stabilizes, I start with noting thoughts every few breaths, a.k.a “checking in”(as soon as I start doing that, unvoluntary body shaking occurs very often). When I encounter issues (distractions, dullness, restlessness etc.), I apply some antidote or slightly modify the technique with the aim of making appropriate balance within the 7 factors of awakening. Lately, in my good days, I am aware of the breath 95% of the time and feel peaceful. On bad days, I focus on applying the antidotes. I’m around TMI stage 4.

Practice pattern: (What I am about to describe is an outline of my background history, things are a bit better now, crises are not so strong and I have a greater awareness of what factor disbalances happen in meditation. Although periodic “crisis” period still occurs.)