Mantra&Vipassana

thumbnail
Dustin, modified 4 Years ago at 7/11/19 2:29 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 7/11/19 2:29 PM

Mantra&Vipassana

Does any one have experience doing mantra practice up through insight stages? Is it possible? 

Can a person do mantra & vipassana at the same time? Like mantra and bare witnessing?

Anybody have any thoughts on practice when noting doesn’t seem to work like it use to? 

The deal is i is I have been practicing for a couple years and looking for something new to do. Been doing breath at the nose concentration and Mahasi noting or 3 speed transmission and looking for a change up. 
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 4 Years ago at 7/11/19 9:39 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 7/11/19 4:02 PM

RE: Mantra&Vipassana

Anybody have any thoughts on practice when noting doesn’t seem to work like it use to? 
I have tried noting and it never really felt right compared to other forms of meditation. I use it occassionally during daily life as a mindfulness practice to keep the mind focused but I don't use it in an intensive form or as a main route to something greater. But my purpose for meditaing has always been to help me realx, quiet my mind, and cope with stress so I am drawn to relaxing types of meditation. Some authors translate "dukkha" as "stress" and that fits with my view/experience of things.
Can a person do mantra & vipassana at the same time?
It depends on what you mean by "mantra" and "vipassana".

I do a kind of meditation (when sitting, walking, lying down, etc) on the breath (I use a "mantra" counting breaths or thinking "in" and "out" as I breathe) which is very relaxing and puts me into a very relaxed state.

I have written about my practice on my log in these forums
https://www.dharmaoverground.org/discussion/-/message_boards/message/8496517
and on my web site
https://sites.google.com/site/chs4o8pt/meditation-1#meditation_serenity