Leveraging Attainments: Fruition or Stream Entry

David Kyle Spencer, modified 4 Years ago at 11/21/19 7:58 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 11/21/19 7:31 AM

Leveraging Attainments: Fruition or Stream Entry

First, a little background: I've been practicing one form of meditation or another since I was 15 years old. Those were the days of Interview With the Vampire and The Craft, so I was hardly the only kid on the block dabbling in esoteric practices. The only difference, it seemed, was that everyone else was pretending to get results. They'd close their eyes very solemnly and bow their heads and mumble to themselves for about 2-3 minutes or so, and then stand up with the haughty air of some ancient White Lotus Zen Master they saw on TV somewhere. When I sat down to meditate, the world would dissappear. Sometimes, I went so deep that my friends had to hold a mirror under my nose to see if I was still breathing. 

I'd always been strange child, one of those awkward dreamworld kids who's brain can't seem to produce anything but alpha waves. I was one of the first GT kids drafted into of the original 80s test pilot programs co-sponsored by the now defunct OMNI Magazine, in which 80% of the school funding and 95% of the field trips are allotted to the same thirty kids year after year, from 1984-1990. Due to the manifestly unfair nature of human genetics, these same thirty kids also won all the tournaments, all the Science Fairs, May Day prizes, Reading Contests -you name it - every year.

Try to imagine, for a moment, the pure hatred that not only the kids deemed to be un-Gifted and un-Talented directed at these prima donnas, but the resentment of their underfunded teachers as well. The results of this misbegotten national social experiment were so horrific that the program was pulled nationwide in 1990, but the scars never quite heal.