retreat experience

thumbnail
Jane Laurel Carrington, modified 12 Years ago at 5/3/11 2:07 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 5/3/11 2:07 PM

retreat experience

I seem to have made some sort of breakthrough on a recent daylong retreat. I've been doing samatha practice exclusively for a couple of months without much success, focusing on the anapana spot. Lately I'd been going into a twilight state where bits of dream imagery come and go; I thought I was sleepy, but then I'd lie down and not go to sleep, so I wasn't sure. Then what happened on the retreat as I was sitting in this dreamy state is I suddenly felt a sense of clarity snap into place in the breath going in and out over the anapana spot, and all the dream stuff ceased. I maintained the focus through the rest of the sitting meditation and into the walking meditation that followed. What had been difficult to do before suddenly became, not easy, but something that seemed to maintain itself without any real effort on my part. I felt my mind running on like a radio in the background that was turned down to very low volume.

I haven't been able to get this back since returning to daily life; am hoping to get it back in a long weekend retreat coming up. But I am wondering what it was that I experienced. It definitely felt different from anything I've had happen before.

Thanks to anyone who cares to reply!
thumbnail
Tommy M, modified 12 Years ago at 5/4/11 5:32 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 5/4/11 5:32 AM

RE: retreat experience

Sounds like you've moved through access concentration, into 1st jhana and then on into 2nd. The clarity and lack of effort are almost certainly 2nd jhana related so you now have something to remember these states by, a sort of sensory key to being able to access them quicker than before.