Moments of Terror

thumbnail
Tom Robert Schwab, modified 4 Years ago at 1/18/20 2:22 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 1/18/20 2:22 PM

Moments of Terror

I’ve had some strange experiences recently and am hoping someone can provide some context or suggestions.

They happen ‘off the cushion’ when I catch myself lost in discursive mind wandering, but instead of a pleasant and open ‘aha’ moment, I experience a brief but visceral shock of terror. In my mind it feels like ‘I’ am somewhere else observing things from a distance but helpless to do anything. In my body it feels like being startled by a loud noise; muscle contractions, spiked heart rate, and loss of breath. The intensity lasts only a brief moment but the reverberations and aftershocks linger for 30 seconds or so. 

There is some seemingly associated trauma where in moments during the following days I can feel another shock coming on, but in these cases there is a discernible conceptual/narrative component and I am able to remain mindful and direct my awareness to bodily sensations which helps me stay composed. There has been occasional skin-crawly weirdness/creepiness. I have also experienced an uptick of hypnagogic jerks which experientially seem very similar to these waking terror shocks. 

I have not experienced any of these shocks while meditating. Lately I have focused on body work (Goenka-style body scans and whole body breathing), brief glimpse practices (Sam Harris, Diana Winston, and Loch Kelly), and Metta sprinkled throughout the day.

What is this? Dissociation? Depersonalization? Derealization? Dark night?

More background information about me and my practice: