Societal Dropout

thumbnail
Mike Kich, modified 12 Years ago at 6/20/11 9:32 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 6/20/11 9:32 AM

Societal Dropout

I'm currently going through hard times, in that I'm being bullied by an idiot professor. For the moment, if I want to preserve a future in grad school which is just around the corner, I have to bend the knee and suck it up. If I get screwed over for this last class though, I'm seriously wanting to ragequit and just drop right the hell out of society. Ideas on how to actually do that and survive?
thumbnail
Jane Laurel Carrington, modified 12 Years ago at 6/20/11 9:57 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 6/20/11 9:57 AM

RE: Societal Dropout

Mike, I am a professor, not the idiot kind, I hope, but I have lots of students come to me with similar problems. Some professors make a practice of selecting one or two students per class as a target of their own self-loathing, whereas others get into a pattern of working to humiliate students in especially subtle ways in order to bond the students to them more closely; these students take courses with them semester after semester, hoping to win the prof's approval. Of course it never works.