Five Ways to Know Mikhail Zybin

thumbnail
Mikhail Zybin, modified 3 Years ago at 5/8/20 2:26 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 5/8/20 2:26 AM

Five Ways to Know Mikhail Zybin

Hello and welcome!
This is my second practice log here on DhO (the first one is here). Here I will describe my experience of practicing Shinzen Young's Basic Mindfulness system described in his book Five Ways to Know Yourself.

I am a 21 yo student from Moscow, Russia.
I am pre-SE pre-A&P practitioner. My overall meditation time is approximately 300 hours (as of May 2020).
I study a lot of mathematics, statistics, computer science, data science, and machine learning. Currently finishing my BS in maths, planning to enter the MS program in data science, and then do research in the field of Artificial Intelligence. I have been more or less regularly meditating since May 2018.
I visited 10 days Goenka retreat in June 2019.
thumbnail
Mikhail Zybin, modified 3 Years ago at 5/8/20 2:27 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 5/8/20 2:27 AM

RE: Five Ways to Know Mikhail Zybin

1 May 2020
Morning session 30 min Do nothing
I planned to sit for an hour, but I noticed that I was just daydreaming, thinking about my tasks and plans, and decided to finish earlier because it seemed a waste of time. During the day I would like to read more about this meditation.

2 May 2020
Morning session 30 min See In, Hear In, Feel In
I decided to read Shinzen's Basic Mindfulness. I love that he is very clear and systematic.
These were neither dullness nor tiredness during the session. I loved the technique. Now I see what to develop and how.

3 May 2020
Morning session 30 min Hear Out
I opened the window in my room and listened to the street noises. There were birds singing and cars passing by. It was beautiful and engaging. However, in the end the thoughts started to distract.

4 May 2020
Morning session 30 min Feel Out
I observed body sensations. Tingling in fingers, warmth, knees touching the floor, sitting on the cushion.