RE: Nav's Practice Log Nav 2/15/21 6:45 PM
RE: Nav's Practice Log Nav 2/15/21 6:53 PM
RE: Nav's Practice Log Sam Gentile 2/16/21 11:18 AM
RE: Nav's Practice Log Nav 2/18/21 5:44 PM
Nav, modified 3 Years ago at 8/31/20 10:19 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 8/31/20 10:19 PM

Nav's Practice Log

Hi all,

I am fairly new to this forum and looking to setup a log; I have been keeping one personally for a short time and figured its better in public domain to keep feedback channels open. 

Background: I have been meditating since 2013 mainly in the non-dual (Advaita) teachings for the majority of the time. What i found was although they got me into some bliss/centred states during meditation, i have had limited success integrating this into my life, and by & large patterns of reactivity still remained. 

This year I finally did a 10 day Goenka retreat and found it very profound. Day 5/6 the teachings on impermanence had me grooving into some pretty ecstatic states especially when i applied them to my thoughts, followed by some "chasing the high" over the next few days and "mellowing" in the last couple of days. Since then I have stumbled onto MCTB/Shinzen/Folk/Mahasi choiceless noting techiniques which have now been practise for 2 hours/day for the past 5 months. 

Although I dont know where i am on the maps, my sessions recently have been very positive with little struggle. On average i get very good conentration, am noting lots of body sensation, thoughts, images, urges and complex mind patterns. My noting recently has been lots of energy in the body, lots of buzzing, tingling & pulsing sensations. Although I am often mapping my state, I am certain i do not want to obsess over the maps, as i can see it very easily transferring the suffering from the real world into spiritual materalism for me.

I am aiming at stream entry and am working with a teacher, who has actually recommended the logs. 

Look forward to this!

Nav
Nav, modified 3 Years ago at 9/1/20 6:34 AM