Kind of Newbie Question

Carol Lynn Stewart, modified 3 Years ago at 9/28/20 9:02 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/28/20 9:02 PM

Kind of Newbie Question

I just joined this week and would like to ask a newbie question about progress in the stages of insight meditation. I have 20 years of meditation experience but this was mostly guided meditations from 2000 to 2006 with one teacher (new age mostly) and also guided meditations from 2006 to 2016 with another teacher in India (mostly Hindu Kundalini). I'm seventy years old and want to get as far as I can before I croak.

I hadn't heard of the maps until last year when I was floundering in failed attempts to access the jhanas (from 2016 to 2019). Then I found the Mahasi Manual and MCTB. The maps were a revelation. I finally had a template to fit the experiences I'd had in India. I was shoved into the A&P several times courtesy of a guru, which was astonishing but the guru and his guides didn't like it when you ended up in Dark Night stages, so you were on your own there. I didn't have a context for the process but can now fit the maps on what I had experienced. My sense was that they really did not know what to do with the Westerners who dropped into Dark Night stages. Despite this, I learned a lot from them and a fellow student suggested that I might look into Buddhist meditation because during one full day, intense process I ended up in Infinite Space (5th Jhana). I had no idea what this was and was astounded when I read Meditative States in Tibetan Buddhism, and there it was - exactly what I had experienced.