How do you know if you are making progress?

Artem Zen, modified 2 Years ago at 5/11/21 4:38 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 5/11/21 4:38 PM

How do you know if you are making progress?

Hello fellow Dharmanites, 

I have been meditating consistently for about 5 years. 

I started with 10 minutes a day using the headspace app. 

Eventually started to do 20 minutes a day unguided, then 20 mins twice daily. 

I later did the TM course, dabbled with that for a bit, although wasn't crazy about it. 

Through these years I have also being using psychedelics at least several times a year. 

These substances have had a profound effect on me in particular 5-me0-dmt which I used 3 times and believe really propelled me on the spiritual path. 

About a year and a half ago I read "Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha" and then "The Mind Illuminated."

Both books had a big impact on me. 

MTCTB because it introduced me to pragmatic dharma which was a breath of fresh after reading cryptic spiritual teachings for years. It also helped me map my 5-me0-DMT experiences and realize that they were most likely A&P events. (that explained my desire to go deeper into meditation as well as my challenges dealing with conventional reality)

"The Mind Illuminated" because I think I finally understood what was happening with my mind during meditation and how to potentially correct it so I can actually meditate instead of being lost in content. 

Since then I became what I would say a "serious meditator" clocking in about 90 mins meditation time daily and now I do at least 2 hours daily (probably for the last year or so). 

A little over a year ago I got to attend a 4-day beginners Zen retreat. It was nice but I was definitely ready for something more intense. 

Last August I hired a meditation teacher who I have been seeing once a week until the last couple of months at which point we started meeting bi-weekly.