How long does it take to get to jhana

goba g gobasson, modified 14 Years ago at 11/2/09 6:08 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 11/2/09 6:08 AM

How long does it take to get to jhana

I've been practicing shamata (with anapanasati) on and off for the last 5 months maybe twice a week or so for 20-40 minutes. Two weeks ago I made a commitment to amp up my practice and since then I've sat for 30mins twice a day everyday.

When I sit a usually can "get into the groove" in about five minutes, totally focused on the breath at the nostrils, not missing a single breath and pretty much no distracting thoughts for the whole duration of the sitting. Sometimes thoughts arise, but not strong enough to distract my attention from the breath and I usually catch the arising thought immediatly and i'm able to let it go.

Now to my "problem":
When I sit, nothing happens. Once I get focused I just sit there breath after breath. I don't get any calmer, I don't get piti or any of the other jhana factors. The only thing that happens sometimes is that I get a urge to get up from the cushion but that urge usually passes if I just stay with the breath.

My questions
1) How long should I sit? I usually sit about 30 minutes.
2) How long did you practice meditation before you could get into first jhana? How long could one
expect that it takes? Months or years?

Best regards
Goba
thumbnail
Florian, modified 14 Years ago at 11/2/09 6:59 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 11/2/09 6:57 AM

RE: How long does it take to get to jhana

Hi Goba,

Once you're concentrated on the breath, open your focus a bit, without losing the breath of course. See if you can notice a pleasant sensation somewhere in the breath/body. Ven. Ajahn Brahm coined the phrase "find the beautiful breath". Stay on that pleasant, beautiful breath sensation.

A few things from my practice: