RE: - A cry for help, and discussion of faith in practice -

Doctor Gonzo, modified 1 Year ago at 6/28/22 7:46 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 6/28/22 7:46 PM

- A cry for help, and discussion of faith in practice -

Hey everyone, this is my first post on here, though I've been scrolling through this forum for a good 6 months now, so its a pleasure to finally emerge from the shadows and introduce myself to this community.

I have been meditating for a solid 2 years now close to every single day.  On and off for about 4 years in total to get a scope of my commitment to practice. My efforts as of late have been largely orbiting around the practice of Shamatha, both with and without an object, in (what started as) an earnest attempt to hone my concentration power.

Recently though I've been struggling to find solid footing with my practice, I've never experienced anything like this in my years of practicing but i feel completely foundationless in my meditative pursuits.. often unmotivated (but motivated at the same time yet I wouldnt be here?), struggling to concentrate for long periods, self doubt and lack of faith in the practice are recurring. I've wondered if this is a kind of lonliness expressed through the practice of not having a sangha or mentor to guide me on my path.

Anyway I'll just leave this here, any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou.
thumbnail
Sigma Tropic, modified 1 Year ago at 6/29/22 12:03 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 6/29/22 12:03 PM

A basic foundation in counteracting the 5 hindrances and developing the seven factors of awakening can be developed. 

The cause of awakening is the seven factors.

So developing the factors of awakening is a direct path to awakening. 

I am sorry to hear you've had such trouble finding a foothold in your practice. Sometimes with the information overload we have with spiritual ideas these days it can be hard to get a feel for the basic qualities of mind that are leading toward awakening.