Dump it out of your feet

Jeremy P, modified 14 Years ago at 11/12/09 2:09 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 11/12/09 2:09 PM

Dump it out of your feet

...or that's my understanding of the advice I was given on Chan (Zen) retreat last weekend.

During a Q&A session I told the monastic that I was occasionally experiencing wobbling during my sits. It's free moving and I have the choice to repress it (which seems counter to my meditation progress), let it go and watch it, or join and accentuate it. Typically I go with watching it and find it to be pleasant.

The monastic said it sounded like chi moving in the body and I agree. His advice was-- and this is where I could use someone's experience-- to focus on the bubbling well of the foot and allow the energy to pass through. For the Chan (Zen) tradition, I think I see why. It seems they want stillness of the body first and foremost in cultivating awareness.

For me, I don't find the wobbling distracting or problematic, but I am still a beginner (between A&P and stream entry). Has anyone found this energy to be particularly useful or impeding in their practice? Have advice for handling it?
Jeremy P, modified 14 Years ago at 11/12/09 4:23 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 11/12/09 4:23 PM

RE: Dump it out of your feet

if it helps describe the feeling, the wobbles (which I've been experiencing off and on in front of my computer today) have a pulsing feeling to them and have a frequency of about 3-4 Hz. Daniel mentions 5-7 Hz vibrations as part of the dark night and these would be a little slower by my watch.

That said, I don't have a clear understanding of what a vibration is, but I have perceived things in the 5-10 Hz range during uncomfortable sits before and this feels a little different. That said, I did have a few A&P type experiences over the weekend and could be dark nighting.
thumbnail
Florian, modified 14 Years ago at 11/13/09 1:47 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 11/13/09 1:47 AM

RE: Dump it out of your feet (Answer)

Hi Jeremy