Solo retreat

Jamys Maayl Oe Mearey, modified 1 Year ago at 7/14/22 5:18 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 7/14/22 5:18 PM

Solo retreat

Hello,

I'm a novice meditator (working on TMI level 4). I have a free month in September but can't attend an organised retreat; instead, I'm planning to do a solo retreat. I was thinking 10 days hard practice - 10/12 hours a day - to get some momentum up, followed by 20 or so lighter days - maybe 3 hours a day - to keep things moving (a full month of retreat is not completely out of the question, though I do find this thought a little daunting).

I have a couple of questions about how best to organise this 10 day retreat:

1) Would you recommend simply going hard at TMI or throwing in some other techniques - body scanning / noting / meta - (there will be a certain amount of mixing up anyway as I will be doing walking meditation to break up the sits). I recognise that there is probably no strictly correct or incorrect answer to this question, but I'd appreciate any thoughts.  

2) Having been on 1 retreat, and looked at the schedule for a number of others, I've noticed that a lot of (most?) retreats seem to go in for some kind of low-key sleep deprivation (6ish hours a night). Most of my own best daily sits tend to occur when I'm well rested (8+ hours); however, I assume there's a reason why sleep time is limited on retreats?? 

----
Any more general advice from anyone who has sat solo retreats would also be greatly appreciated emoticon

Jamys                          
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 1 Year ago at 7/15/22 12:20 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 7/15/22 12:20 AM

RE: Solo retreat

What're you looking to get out of the retreat?
Jamys Maayl Oe Mearey, modified 1 Year ago at 7/15/22 10:27 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 7/15/22 10:20 AM

Cheers for your reply,