How did I do this ? Please help

Alexx alexxx, modified 10 Years ago at 6/14/13 9:49 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 6/14/13 9:32 PM

How did I do this ? Please help

Hello. I am a buddhist but I am a novice meditator. I can only get to 1st jhana in acces concentration and did not practice vipassana at all.

Just now, I practiced on a drug witch I will not name. It is the only drug that can improve meditation and this was my last time I use it. I do not encourage this so I will not name it.

This is what happened: I entered the arrising and passing away stage just now. I got to a point where images came up extremely fast, so fast that I could barelly notice them. They were like memories or thaughts that were linked with one another and one poped because of the other. I was in this state for 1 and a half hours and stopped so that I don't risk to harm my body. I did not practice vipassana untill now.

This is how I did it: (keep in mind I was on that drug that helps this but the method is important) - I entered 1st jhana and then instead of focusing on the pleasant sensation of my smile I let my focus lose to observe everything that pops up, like in vipassana. The method I use for jhana is concentration at the tip of the nostrils and then switch to the pleasant sensation of a smile.

What in the world was this ? Was I in a higher jhana than 1st jhana when I did this ? Is this the proper way to do it ? I thaught the method for vipassana (the classic one) is concentration on the movement of a point on the abdomen.

Somebody please explain me a little and help me, I live in a country where I can not find a teacher and this forum is the only one that can help. I intended to start my vipassana practice in a couple of days using the abdomen method but the expirience I just had makes me think if this is a better method. Please help