reverse engineering "yoga nidra"

Mike H, modified 10 Years ago at 9/20/13 2:30 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 9/20/13 11:27 AM

reverse engineering "yoga nidra"

Hello,

I have listened to a couple "yoga nidra" tracks over the last few months, and read a bit about it, and I've been thinking about that practice. I don't necessarily think it ties in directly to attaining insight, but I still think it is interesting and not really in conflict at all with buddhist meditation. As a busy, working person, it can be a helpful practice to use at times to physically/mentally rest.

I will try to phrase this in a way that does not criticize the common yoga nidra practice, as I am not an expert. This is just my sort of working hypothesis.

Basically, many people practice 'yoga nidra' at yoga studios or by listening to guided meditation/tracks. In my limited experience, these all seem to involve music, and various verbal cues.

Taking a more pragmatic-meditator view, it really seems to me that yoga nidra is simply a skill that one can learn to do without any music or external cues. It is really just training oneself to be in a state of physical stillness and rest, just short of sleep, where the mind is still aware. Music is not necessary. And many of the verbal cues are not necessary, only some are, in the tracks I've listened to.

To me, the process of learning this skill is like learning to fall into 1st jhana as described by Ayya Khema or Leigh Brasington. Although a bit easier. (edit - I only mean 'easier' in a limited sense. I don't suggest I've fully grasped this practice)

Respectfully then, it seems that yoga nidra really it is a skill of working with consciousness, like meditation, and can be practiced quite simply on ones own, without purchasing anything. I would suppose that traditionally yoga nidra must have been thought of as a solo practice, without external cues, but the modern American version of it seems to simply emphasize being guided.