Am I anywhere on the map or far from it?

Andreas Thef, modified 9 Years ago at 7/20/14 9:07 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 7/20/14 9:07 AM

Am I anywhere on the map or far from it?

Hello everyone,

I've been meditating for about 10 years. First I was into zen and then became acquainted to vipassana meditation through Shinzen Young, Ayya Khema and Ajahn Brahm.

About two or three years ago my meditation and motivation became more serious and I started meditating at least three hours a day for some time. At the end of last year during a meditation session my facial muscles started to move into grimaces. The same evening lying in bed it began to spread through my whole body, but mainly my arms, neck and face. After a few days theses symptoms subsided. But they returned a few weeks later always accompanied by a deeper level of letting go and letting be. Sometimes I can initiate those movements by just saying to myself: 'let go and let them happen'. But there have not been any other symptoms, like pain, lights, visions, temperature changes and so forth. So I'm not really sure if it is anything like a kundalini process. In fact it seems that the movements are somehow related to some childhood trauma that is beginning to surface lately.

As for my meditation there hasn't been anything special - no nimmitas, no jhanas, no constant awareness of the breath for more than maybe five minutes, no clear signs of any of the stages on the maps. That said, I somehow can identify with some of the characteristics of the stages. But it's more like on a micro level and very faint in comparision to what I have read about it. I don't really have the feeling that I have mastered or fully experienced any of those stages. Still, my meditation has become deeper and more reliable. And my mind mre often becomes pretty quiet, focused and peaceful. And there are those kriyas which, if they are in any way related to kundalini (awakening), seem to indicate that I must be somewhere on the map.