Clueless. Help!

J S S, modified 9 Years ago at 9/7/14 4:36 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 9/7/14 4:33 PM

Clueless. Help!

Dear fellow meditators,
This is my first time talking about my practice to anyone since I started and I couldn't find a teacher I could relate to where I live, so it's going to be long. I sincerely apologize and hope you'd read the whole thing.
First off, a little background that might come in handy. My first memories of "spiritual" experiences go back to when I was 5-6 years old. I remember clearly sensing that there was something "off" about reality and how I perceived it as a watcher. I had trouble identifying with the sense of the "watcher" and the sense of "me". It just felt wrong! I remember suddenly starting what I now know to be called the practice of "self-enquiry", i.e. asking myself the question "Who am I?". That was triggered by either being called by my name or just hanging out or looking in the mirror in the morning. I remember feeling myself being dissolved and the visual field getting blurry/bubbly, I would then be struck by deep terror as I keep asking myself the question, getting deeper in enquiry, dissolving more and still being unable to find the solid, permanent "I" I was hoping to find and then I would just stop. I was quite depressed around that period and shitty feelings of one sort or another generally persisted to be the baseline mood throughout my life. Fast forward 10 years and I find myself feeling extremely weird and haunted with a sense of fear for no reason. I also had trouble sleeping  and would barely get 2 or 3 hours of sleep every night, until one night while I was wallowing in insomnia I suddenly feel and hear intense vibrations all over my body. I generally felt good afterwards and had no trouble going to bed at night.