Extreme negative hallucinations

deltawaves, modified 9 Years ago at 11/10/14 11:54 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/10/14 11:54 PM

Extreme negative hallucinations

I've been meditating for 6 years and have always had mental images of insects.  The problem is they have been getting more and more realistic, and they now attack me every time I am in a hypnagogic state.  Some nights I can't get any sleep because I have to keep waking myself up to flee from them.  One of them in particular, a giant wasp, has the most intense negative body sensations coupled with it and it feels and sounds like it is inside my forehead.

My question is, what can I do to get rid of them?  I understand that a strict vipassana meditator would allow them to come up and get more intense and realistic and just observe them with equanimity even if it is hell, but I am hoping for some other way.  Has anyone had an experience of this nature and did something to manipulate conditions to make them more pleasant?
thumbnail
Bill F, modified 9 Years ago at 11/11/14 12:14 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/11/14 12:14 AM

RE: Extreme negative hallucinations

Hi Delta Waves: What you are describing sounds like it is outside of normal meditative side effects due to the unreality (which you're aware of) of the hallucinations, the intensity of the discomfort and the way it is disrupting your life. It may be more of a sensory processing or psychological health issue. In this case seeing a doctor/psychiatrist/psychologist is much more useful than ramping up the intensity with meditation. If you need further assistance locating something along those lines you can message me, but a quick google search would work as well. I do hope you find assistance as it sounds unpleasant.-Bill
thumbnail
Babs _, modified 9 Years ago at 11/11/14 2:27 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/11/14 2:27 AM

deltawaves: