I Just Can't Sit Still / I Hate Practicing

Joshua D, modified 8 Years ago at 8/25/15 12:45 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/25/15 12:40 AM

I Just Can't Sit Still / I Hate Practicing

I've been practicing for 8 years in the goenka tradition. I started by doing one course a year, and now sit one course a year and serve one course a year. Following Goenkaji's admonishment, I felt it was best to stick with one practice rather than bounce around, so that is what I have done. 

Aside from my practice, I've studied a decent bit and I am basically fluent with the beliefs of theravadian buddhism. 

I have a great deal of trouble sitting still for an hour, or sometimes even five minutes. Despite a lot of work, I feel completely powerless to control my restless mind, and I feel like it is a huge hurdle. My eyes open, my hands wander, my legs open, I stretch, I look around the room, I day dream, and I'm generally very restless. 

In general, I hate the process of meditating. I do it because I know that it improves my mental life, but I just hate it. Sometimes it's a bearable mix of good and bad, most of the time I just flat hate doing it. 

I don't know how to handle this. Sometimes I am at peace with my restlessness and accept that I don't have that particular virtue, other times I am really disheartened. How can I do anything if I can't even sit still? There are many sessions that go by where it doesn't seem I meditate at all. 

Is there anything I can do to overcome this hurdle? 

I have recently begun mixing in contemplations of the decaying corpse, which have helped calm me a bit, but not in a way that seems to resolve the problem.

(This also makes it very difficult for me to maintain a daily practice). 
thumbnail
Noah, modified 8 Years ago at 8/25/15 1:06 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/25/15 1:06 AM

RE: I Just Can't Sit Still / I Hate Practicing

Some thoughts:
-try noting instead of body scanning
-try freestyle noting instead of fixed-object noting
-try noting in daily life