Jhanas with headache

John, modified 8 Years ago at 9/4/15 5:46 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/4/15 5:46 PM

Jhanas with headache

Does anyone know how I can go into jhanas while having headache?
They are not intense but uncomfortable and even when they are not there
there is uncomfortable pressure in my forehead and temples.

Maybe even other sorts of meditation, I am usually an Anapanasati guy.
Thanks.
thumbnail
Toph H, modified 7 Years ago at 6/13/16 9:39 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 6/13/16 9:39 AM

RE: Jhanas with headache

Using the headache as the object might help.

I'm kinda self taught, and started outside of buddishm so I apologize if my language structure or sematics are awkward.
So here's a run-through...
Focus on the headache, but without emotional involvement.  Observing it, it might help to shift your center of awarensess up, and in a bit, or even towards the center of your head(less right behind your eyelids).  This helps in creating a spaceousness to both obersve the headache as well as a jumping point to a deeper meditation, it may be subtle at first but become 3D once you stabilize then shift.  If you notice yourself becoming emotionally involved with the pain, relax, open up some more, allow the headache to pass through you, without clinging to it or it to you.(Just like breath)

You may notice your body/head have a "hollow," "vast," open, "vessel-like" feeling, in staying with this, the headache can be observed quite readily as rising and passing, like waves(sometimes a sensations, without the pain, or even so much as other imagery..a literal sin wave), and it doesn't disturb the mind in that manner.