Working on jhana

John Doe, modified 8 Years ago at 10/13/15 5:12 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 10/13/15 5:12 AM

Working on jhana

So, after dabbling with meditation for about a year and one 10-day Goenka retreat, I decided to start seriously working on the jhanas. I have some experience with concentration meditation before, but I quit because of the negative effects, which I now understand are the result of incorrect practice which lacked awareness. Before I start, I have a few questions and points which I hope someone will be able to clarify 

1> How long did it take you to get to jhana? How much did you practice? How long would you expect that it would take the average person if he/she was really enthusiastic about it and dedicated 1 - 2 hours a day to practice? I understand that everyone is different and I'm not looking for the exact number of days, just a ballpark estimate, as in, few weeks, 1 month, 2-3 months, a year, 2 years, etc. Also, how long does it take to get to intermediate mastery (for instance perfect 1st or the 1st and 2nd jhanas and be able to get to the 4th jhana)?

2> Would you suggest that I break up the daily practice time in 2-3 sessions or put it together in one session? How much time per session is optimal?