Buddhist communes?

Guy, modified 7 Years ago at 4/16/16 8:00 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 4/16/16 8:00 PM

Buddhist communes?

Are there any non-cult communes/institutions, anyone has heard of, where people can live, work and get the opportunity to practice a great deal with relatively like minded people. I'm looking for somewhere pretty much as rigorous as a good monastery but...well, not a monastery. I've had lots of experience in monastic settings but wouldn't feel comfortable becoming a monk. Do such places exist? Realy appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks. Guy
thumbnail
svmonk, modified 7 Years ago at 4/16/16 9:35 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 4/16/16 9:33 PM

RE: Buddhist communes?

Hi Guy,

You might try San Francisco Zen Center: http://sfzc.org/.

The practice lineage is Soto Zen, with the founder being Shunryu Suzuki.

They have three sites:

City Center: located in San Francisco itself, on Bush Street. The building is a former single Jewish woman's residence from the early part of the 20th century designed by Julia Child Morgan.

Green Gulch Farm: located along Highway One in Marin County north of San Francisco on the other side of the Golden Gate. Green Gulch is an organic farm (actually one of the first in the nation, established in the early '70s) that uses the French biodynamic method.

Tassajara Zen Mountain Center: located in Los Padres National Wilderness Area about 20 miles as the crow flies southeast of Carmel, south of San Francisco about a 3-4 hour drive. Tassajara is open to the public in summer (roughly beginning of May through Labor Day) and functions as a training center during the winter. It has a Japanese style hot spring, pool, and lots of places to go hiking.