How to find a teacher?

Jason Massie, modified 7 Years ago at 11/16/16 11:15 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 11/16/16 11:14 PM

How to find a teacher?

I have done 8 goenka retreats(some serving) and I meditate 2-4 hours a day. I try to maintain awareness of sensations between sits. My next retreat is in January . 

I have had some experiences. My life is quite different than it was a few years ago.

I have read Daniel's book a few times.

The book and you guys recommend getting a teacher over and over. How does one go about doing that?
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 7 Years ago at 11/17/16 3:35 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 11/17/16 3:35 AM

RE: How to find a teacher?

I list some pragmatic teachers here: http://noahsmonthlyupdate.blogspot.com/p/links.html?m=1

They all teach over Skype.  There's also a guy named Tucker who's Culadasa authorized: http://meditatewithtucker.com/

And Abre Chen another Kenneth Folk student but she doesn't have a website.

Plenty of resources, pick your poison emoticon
pamojja, modified 7 Years ago at 11/18/16 5:02 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 11/18/16 5:02 PM

Jason Massie:
The book and you guys recommend getting a teacher over and over. How does one go about doing that?

Beside what everyone seems to be telling you, with your practice, do you yourself feel the need or have reasons for a teacher?
Jason Massie, modified 7 Years ago at 11/18/16 10:01 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 11/18/16 10:01 PM

pamojja:
Jason Massie:

Beside what everyone seems to be telling you, with your practice, do you yourself feel the need or have reasons for a teacher?
Haha. That is a good point. I think part of it is that now that I know there are maps, I want to where I am at.

It could be argued that maybe a teacher will help me progress faster. On the other hand, I read Daniel's "Will you be my teacher" FAQ on his website and it makes sense.