Broad somatic vs. narrower focus

Lucas, modified 7 Years ago at 12/9/16 11:14 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 12/9/16 11:14 AM

Broad somatic vs. narrower focus

I was hoping I could get some guidance on the direction of my practice.

I have been practising for a few years, but only came across MCTB a little over a year ago which was great for many reasons, but especially to give me a framework within which to practise.

MCTB/Mahasi style noting, noticing the rising and falling of the abdomen as well as when the mind strays has been my main practice since. I haven’t been religious about the labelling aspect of the nothing always, but have found it especially helpful when I’m tired or particularly distracted for whatever reason.

I have also been heavily influenced over the last year by Reggie Ray’s style of practice; I listened to his audiobook ‘The Practice of Pure Awareness’ and a number of his other guided meditations on the Dharma Ocean website and have found them incredibly interesting. His somatic style heavily emphasises attention to be given to the central channel. Focusing on this region I’ve found leads to incredibly vivid experiences of the impermanence of my sensate experience, often quickly getting me to a place where I experience the 3D pixilated field of energy to quite an uncomfortably intense degree. This also feels the most like it’s sort of ‘getting somewhere’, as in the draft of MCBT2 Daniel mentions that people may not practise a particular style of meditation because they are fearful of how disconcerting the experience is. For me this practise is certainly that.