Insights or mental illness?

Tyler Winter, modified 6 Years ago at 1/21/18 12:02 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 1/20/18 11:59 PM

Insights or mental illness?

Alright so I have been meditating for about 2 years now and have been having a lot of amazing experiences. I have been doing a mix of samatha and insight meditation. I am wondering if any one might know where I am at in terms of the progresses of insight.

I have been having wild mood swings. Sometimes I feel absolutely amazing, like I am absorbed into the divine. I feel very blissful and everything just feels amazing! Almost too amazing, like I could explode at any minute. I was dancing one time and it just felt like I wasn't the one doing the dancing, but some divine force was doing the dance for me. My friend said it looked choreographed lol.

Other times it is the opposite, I don't really feel motivated to do anything, I hate everything and I get angry for no reason. Sounds a lot like traditional bipolar disorder, but the highs sound similar to what is desribed in the maps of insight.

I also sometimes run into these homicidal thoughts, where I just feel like my intentions are pure evil at times. I feel really really powerful. It just feels like I have so much energy, like I am constantly in fight or flight mode and am ready to strike at any moment.

Anyway I cycle between those 3 states sometimes all during the same day. I sometime feel insane honestly and am wondering if this is a meditation thing or if I need to get some psychiatric help. Thanks!
Dom Stone, modified 6 Years ago at 1/21/18 4:19 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 1/21/18 4:19 AM

RE: Insights or mental illness?