Is all of this compatible with rationality?

Alice, modified 5 Years ago at 4/3/18 8:46 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 4/3/18 8:46 AM

Is all of this compatible with rationality?

I'm feeling confused about what to believe about meditation because of a couple of examples of clearly irrational beliefs held by teachers/ practitioners I otherwise respect.

I've been meditating for a couple of years and been on a couple of retreats. I got into meditation in part thanks to Sam Harris, and found this website thanks to the slatestarcodex review of Dan's book. Rationality is an important part of who I am and how I try to think.

I love the pragmatism of Dan's book. Also reading The Mind Illuminated and everything Culadasa says about the early stages corresponds with my own experiences. I like that lots of the Dharma teachings seem to map onto modern day neuroscience. I like the clarity I've attained on how my own mind works, a feeling of gradually increasing equanimity, and things like improved sleep and focus.

However I have a couple of major concerns:
- Given the time, effort and risks involved with this path, I would expect to see pretty strong evidence of great benefits. Between the impressive but sometimes hard to relate to descriptions of individual meditators on the spiritual side, and the academic literature on specific applications e.g. for depression, I'm still not fully convinced that going down the hard-core enlightenment path is worth it (versus investing the time in personal relationships and trying to fix world problems through career).