Why is this particular reality so solidified?

thumbnail
Ricky Lee Nuthman, modified 5 Years ago at 5/17/18 12:41 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 5/16/18 8:03 PM

Why is this particular reality so solidified?

First, a very short explanation of myself. Feel free to skip these first paragraphs! Sorry for my lack of terminology, I am kind of new to discussing my experiences with other people besides a few freaked out individuals.

This site was suggested to me by a guy at a vipassana retreat after hearing some of my bizarre experiences. My journey began back in the mid-80s after a stupid gasoline fume huffing experience. From that moment until age 40 I was stuck in a perpetual terrifying hallucination. Of course, I'd still be in it had someone not told me about vipassana. I did my first 10 day retreat that year and I've done another 10 day and a 4 day since then. I also meditate more than I really have time for in my normal life. To me, being in a state of altered consciousness is as natural as not being in one, but I can sort of remember before the gas incident when I had a much more normal way of seeing the world. The cure for my mental illness was particularly strange to me because the realization of the very thing that was scaring the shit out of me turned out to be my salvation. Impermanence. My entire madness was based around the fear of it. It's probably impossible to explain the state that I was in for 26 years but I can kind of get the point across. The first thing that changed about me after the gas event was that I noticed that I was no longer just me, but me as well following myself around. I could see out of my eyes, but I could also see that I was observing myself slightly in front of myself looking in the same direction. Yeah, I know... I used to endlessly try to fight this but gave up. I actually still experience this, but it doesn't scare me now.