Seeking advice on attaining Samatha Jhana and conquering Hindrances

David U, modified 14 Years ago at 6/15/09 2:51 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 6/15/09 2:51 PM

Seeking advice on attaining Samatha Jhana and conquering Hindrances

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi everyone,

Firstly, thank you to everyone who contributes on this superb forum. I have been learning a great deal from all the accomplished practitioners and beginners alike.

A short introduction as I haven't been active here: I have been practicing in Mahasi-style Vipassana for around 18 months with one 10-day retreat under my belt and a regular daily practice. During and after retreat (over a year ago), when my practice felt very strong, I believe I attained knowledge of Mind & Body, Cause & Effect and possibly a little beyond. Back then I was mostly doing dry insight without knowing it.

More recently I have been focussing on Samatha, as I am weaker in concentration than I'd like to be, and feel I need to strengthen this side of practice before returning to Insight. I'd like to present a typical session and ask for some advice as to how to proceed.

During a typical 50 minute sit, I am effortfully concentrated on the in-out sensations of the breath with little distraction by 35 minutes or so. Once the boat is steady, as it were, a clear sense of dropping deeper into the breath occurs, and this brings on a very serene state. This lasts only for a few breaths, and then a series of rapid events: I begin to experience a lightness of body, even weightlessness, and almost simultaneously a concentration of "energy" hardens around my chest. My heart begins to race and I lose the deep serenity. I am once again effortfully bringing attention to the breath sensations in order to steady concentration.