Anxiety Relief

Nothing, modified 5 Years ago at 9/14/18 7:55 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 9/14/18 7:55 AM

Anxiety Relief

Hi all

I have high blood pressure and so I want to practice Samatha meditation because that focuses more on relaxation. Trouble is, I'm not sure what it entails.

I've been doing Vipassana (insight) every day for the last four months, but I am new to all of this, and when I looked into Samatha (calm), I couldn't see any differences in technique. Both say to focus on the breath. 

Could someone please point me in the direction of a concise explanation on how to practice Samatha so I can relax a bit?

Thank you.
JP, modified 5 Years ago at 9/14/18 8:38 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 9/14/18 8:38 AM

RE: Anxiety Relief

Beyond just reading the sections on concentration in MCTB (e.g. here and here), many practitioners have gotten a lot out of working with the book The Mind Illuminated to develop samatha and vipassanna in tandem.  It may also be worth keeping in mind that whatever technique you're using will inevitably stir up some complex emotions. It's very natural at times to feel like meditation is making anxiety worse rather than better, at least in the short run.
Nothing, modified 5 Years ago at 9/14/18 9:01 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 9/14/18 9:01 AM

JP:
Beyond just reading the sections on concentration in MCTB (e.g. here and here), many practitioners have gotten a lot out of working with the book The Mind Illuminated to develop samatha and vipassanna in tandem.  It may also be worth keeping in mind that whatever technique you're using will inevitably stir up some complex emotions. It's very natural at times to feel like meditation is making anxiety worse rather than better, at least in the short run.
Thank you JP