Richard Rose's Psychology of the Observer

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 6/16/09 7:44 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 6/16/09 7:44 PM

Richard Rose's Psychology of the Observer

Author: aha123
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

I don't know if anyone here is familiar with Richard Rose' s teaching. I am interested in knowing the connection between his teaching and Vipassana world. He coined two terms: Umpire and Process Observer. I wonder if Process Observer is equivalent to "watcher" sensations in Vipassana. Umpire is being identified as a type of sensation in Vipassana or something else. I am still studying his system and it is not easy to digest. It seems to me Umpire is equivalent to the rational mind according to his book, but I am not quite sure.
thumbnail
Vincent Horn, modified 14 Years ago at 6/18/09 11:29 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 6/18/09 11:29 AM

RE: Richard Rose's Psychology of the Observer

If you're reffering to his spiritual map, "Jacob's Ladder," I'd just offer that the resolution of the each triangle refers to a milestone in spiritual practice. The last one, is quite clearly, what is referred to here as 4th path. His process observer, i believe lines up quite nicely with 3rd path, because it is at 3rd path that one begins to flux between being aware of the body-mind process and the individual experience of consciousness itself. And it's the resolution of these two poles which is what 4th path is said to represent.

Then the top of the first triangle, what he calls "somatic awareness," is to me what opens up after 1st path. That said, it could represent something else in his system. it's not entirely clear to me, but there are some strong parallels between how he describes it w/ stream-entry.