Novice Teacher Seeking Guidance

Julie Mattos-Hall, modified 1 Month ago at 3/7/24 9:31 AM
Created 1 Month ago at 3/7/24 9:26 AM

Novice Teacher Seeking Guidance

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, and I want to start by saying how much I appreciate this community. I've learned a lot here. Big fan of Daniel Ingram.

In a couple of weeks, I will be facilitating my first meditation gathering, and I was wondering whether any of you might have some tips. Perhaps you have taught meditation before, and there are some things you wish you'd known when you started. Or perhaps you have been to a lot of meditation classes, and there are certain things you wish teachers did/didn't do.

A little bit of background: I've been meditating for some 25 years, and it has been fruitful in terms of jhanas and insight.

I'm a Brit living abroad. Some months ago, friends started asking me about maybe teaching meditation. At around the same time, a senior teacher who lives in the same country and with whom I have developed a friendship over the last couple of years started encouraging me quite enthusiastically. Meanwhile, all sorts of ideas started suggesting themselves about what I might teach and how. I feel that I have something to offer.

I have some experience teaching as I used to teach at university, and I loved it. I was hesitant at first, probably because I know this won't necessarily be easy, but then my working hours eased up unexpectedly, and I felt like it was the right time. I sent out a bunch of messages on local groups and have a handful of people coming to my house in a couple of weeks for the first session.