Concentration balance + beginner jhana questions

Nicolas, modified 9 Years ago at 11/17/14 12:44 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/17/14 11:47 AM

Concentration balance + beginner jhana questions

Hey there (my first post on DhO yayy),  I have a couple of beginner questions regarding concentration & jhanas.

I started practicing 4 months ago, coming from a lucid dreaming background (so the shift was "natural" and I was already kind of familiar with unordinary experiences). I reached the first jhana couple of times without really wanting it, quickly started to feel some first benefits of a daily practice (depression and bipolar disorder is more than common in my family so I have that funny DNA too)

I've clung to this first "attainment" for a while, even blaming myself for not being able to reach these states again; basically being all but compassionate towards myself which made my practice kind of useless for couple of weeks.

So right now I'm starting from "scratch" (like if I ever left that place, but anwyays) and I have some questions regarding concentration : I have sometimes tried way too hard, getting strong pain in my forehead - and I feel that by focusing so hard on my breath I'd just trigger even more distractions and thoughts to a kind of mental inner madness.
At another times I'd be so "open" to anything that my attention would basically go from inbreath to the sound of AC to a thought and so on - basically I manage to remain pretty aware as I don't get sucked into thoughts, but I can feel that this is definitely too loose and I need to narrow it down. Well actually I don't know, could that also be a form of concentration on the big picture? Like one step behind? 

So I guess I kind of answer my quetsion myself which is probably something like : keep practicing and figure it out. However, I'd like to know if some of you had tips to find that delicate balance.