Seeking Practice Advice

Dave, modified 5 Years ago at 10/2/18 4:51 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 10/2/18 4:51 AM

Seeking Practice Advice

Hello virtual sangha, I hope you're all well. I'm a novice meditator in need of practical advice, and my current geographic isolation has made it difficult to come by. If you have a moment, please make what you will of the embarassingly personal anecdote below:

In July 2016 I completed a ten day retreat at Dhamma Joti Vipassana Mediation Centre (Myanmar) in the S.N. Goenka Vipassana tradition. I had very little understanding of meditation and Buddhist practice at this time. I practiced well until around day 6, when I had a strange out-of-body experience in which I perceived my physical form as swirling tornado of orange 'energy' particles.

From around this point forward, as I completed iterative body scans my thoughts would manifest in my visual field. I was able to get into an absorption state where I could continue scanning my body as these images arose, and at some point I came to view them as the primary meditation object. This meant that I examined the content rather than simply the impermanence of the mental sensations. Upon reflection, it seems I wasn't practising the technique properly at all and got caught in a lot of thought and reflection. This led to contemplation of death, followed by manifestation of escalating fear. I allowed the sensations to arise without trouble, and towards the end of the retreat I saw a blinding flash of light paired with realisations of oneness/no-self and a complete dissipation of fear and doubt. This led me to assume I had attained Nibbana. I had no discussions with a teacher to clarify this, as I was under the impression I could not speak with the teachers about specific aspects of my experience.