Todo's "perspective"

21 日前 に Todo によって更新されました。 at 24/05/11 12:26
Created 21 日 ago at 24/05/11 12:26

Todo's "perspective"

投稿: 189 参加年月日: 18/08/20 最新の投稿
From time to time I have to refer to a certain "perspective" and those not familiar with my other posts will not understand what I am talking about. So I thought it might help to summarize it in one place that can be referenced easily.

Also, I am interested in the feedback from all of the community members here. Not that I seek confirmation or particular advice. I am aware of how arrogant this might come across but be assured that that's not my intent. It's just that this perspective feels so right that I  am happy to stick with it unless it gets destroyed by very strong objections.

If that were to happen I would be very disappointed but I will not hesitate a second to revise it or abandon it completely. I am a scientist by training & therefore convinced that whatever "theory" doesn't stand the test of time should be revised or abandoned altogether, without regrets.

So this "perspective" in a nutshell is based on the understanding that reality can be apprehended in two different ways:

1. The conventional perspective: the untrained human consciousness apprehend reality as it appears. There are forms, sights, sounds, physical sensations, mental thoughts, etc.
These are apprehended as they appear from the perspective of an "I" or "Me" sitting here watching reality unfold over there.

2. The other perspective: the same reality in all its diversity is apprehended as having the same fundamental nature. It's simply "clear cognizance".
This clear cognizance has the properties of:
- "self-luminosity": there is no need to do anything. Just by virtue of being conscious reality manifests itself to itself without intermediary. There is no one to whom this is happening. Any sense of self is just another appearance, another happening.