Stream Entry?

T DC, modified 12 Years ago at 9/30/11 1:29 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 9/29/11 11:20 PM

Stream Entry?

So, to start off, I am new to Daniel Ingram's approach to meditation. I have been meditating for a year and a half, mostly following samatha technique, from Chogyam Trungpa's books as well as Turning the Mind into an Ally by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche. My technique has been to just focus on the breath, and try to let thoughs go, or be... I haven't really had clear goals, other than hoping meditation would quiet my mind a bit, which it seems to have.

Anyhow, two days ago (Tuesday) I came across MCTB, and watched the first two videos here: http://vimeo.com/23568408. From listening to Daniel Ingram talk, I recognized I had been through the first three stages, and I also seemed to be through the Arising and Passing away. I also recognized re-observation as something I had been feeling now and then. The day I watched the videos my state of mind was very stable, and I felt a disconnect from my normal patterns. One thing I recall from the day was looking at other people and thinking how little I could tell about them just from their faces; that people are just born with a face, and it doesn't mean much about what is in their minds. Looking back it seems I was in equanimity

So I watched the videos, and then I decided to sit and see if I could get to stream entry, and "lock it in" as Daniel says in the video, so I could get out of the dark night. I sat for 20 mins, focusing on the breath, until I was distracted by what I thought was a spider crawling over to me (It was some sort of bug, not in my mind..ha). I placed my mind back on the breath for a bit, then switched to a vipassana meditation Daniel talked about in the video, placing the atention on both hands, and watching the mind jump back and forth between them.