1st Jhana, twitching face

Scott P, modified 11 Years ago at 11/17/12 4:21 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/17/12 4:21 PM

1st Jhana, twitching face

Hi everybody, feel like I'm posting lots of questons here...

I've been practicing mindfulness of breathing for a few months using Leigh Brasington's method of getting to 1st jhana, which if you didn't know involves getting to access concentration and then when there shifting your attention to a 'pleasant' sensation in order to create a positive feedback loop that takes you to 1st jhana.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I did the above, began to feel a rush of energy, white light, increase in breathing and massive twitching of my mouth! I should note that for my 'pleasant' sensation I make a smile and leave my attention there. so this faded anyway still leaving me feeling really nice and relaxed for a good few hours. then when meditating tonight a similiar thing happened, same signs and my twitching mouth again, my problem is that it kind of faded because I couldn't keep my attention on the 'pleasant' sensation as it was my twitching mouth. kept trying to go back to it but it didn't feel as pleasant anymore while it was twitching away like mad!

any suggestions if this comes up again? Should I go back to the breath? I've had difficulty finding another pleasant sensation and the smile does seem to work quite well for me. Should I perserve with the twitching in some way?

Thanks for your time in reading this, I realise I need to explore these things myself but if anyone has been in a similiar situation perhaps they might have a suggestion or 2. Thanks again!
thumbnail
Jane Laurel Carrington, modified 11 Years ago at 11/20/12 5:33 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/20/12 5:33 PM

RE: 1st Jhana, twitching face