Is this Sotapanna?

Gerry T, modified 4 Years ago at 3/22/19 9:13 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/22/19 9:13 AM

Is this Sotapanna?

The "map" that I have tried to understand is the Theravaden map.
At one time I thought that was THE map but now I know it is just one of many ways of understanding a enlightenment path.

I studied this map and practiced meditation of breath for about four years before this experience that I am about to describe.

I present this in the hope that someone who understands this map can help me understand the experience...

For ten days I experienced blissful feelings and a clear mind.  It started on its own with a lot of intensity and did not require any effort on my part.  I say it was a clear mind because there wasn't any inner talking going on.  I still could think but there was no proliferation of thoughts.  

I felt like I could see things, including myself just the way they were because I did not wish for them to be anything that I wanted them to be.  It was perfect for people and things to be just the way they were.

My senses also seemed more clear and enhanced.  I could smell the air.  I lifted a paper napkin and I could feel the details of the roughness of the paper.  

The bliss and the clarity and the non-discursive thinking was going on all by itself.  I was even waking up with this!. I would open my eyes in the morning and it was just there.  I could see that the blissfulness was there because I wasn't being dragged down by any hindrances.  

During this time I did not do any meditation.  I just observed and tried to understand what was happening.  Occasionally insights would appear. For example, I took my recent past as a thing to investigate and I realized why, in buddhism, there is karma and no feeling of guilt.  I could see that the self that was "me" years before was a different self and that the self that I am now is impermanent and empty.