Message Boards Message Boards

Science and Meditation

Circadian rhythms

Circadian rhythms
Answer
3/24/19 8:33 PM
Lots of processes in the body and mind have circadian cycles.
Does this have a bearing on "cycling" ?
Does it have a bearing on the timing of breakthroughs in the progress of insight ?

RE: Circadian rhythms
Answer
3/25/19 4:15 PM as a reply to Stickman2.
I am interested in this question too, as have noticed insight cycles syncing up with biological cycles and rhythms. I am not a doctor, but according to google, we have 4 known types of biological rhythyms:
  • circadian rhythms: the 24-hour cycle that includes physiological and behavioral rhythms like sleeping
  • diurnal rhythms: the circadian rhythm synced with day and night
  • ultradian rhythms: biological rhythms with a shorter period and higher frequency than circadian rhythms
  • infradian rhythms: biological rhythms that last more than 24 hours, such as a menstrual cycle
It seems that if you look carefully enough, you can find (insight?) cycles in everything in nature, including us. Perhaps when we notice fractals of cycles we are noticing these very cycles? 

As for how the timing works ... I am not sure! Great question though. 

Answer
3/25/19 4:44 PM as a reply to Anna L.
Interesting thoughts! I have been pondering the relation between stages and pms as well as between stages and sleep deprivation. The idea of everything having their own insight cycles makes sense to me. I believe it may explain a lot.

Answer
3/25/19 5:00 PM as a reply to Anna L.
Hormones like noradrenaline, cortisol, testosterone, aoestrogen, melatonin; neurotransmitters like endocannabinoids, serotonin.

The chemicals of bliss, attention, desire and suffering all have daily rhythms.

Answer
3/25/19 5:53 PM as a reply to Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö.