Experiences brought on by Virtual Reality

thumbnail
Eddie Z, modified 4 Years ago at 6/26/19 12:31 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 6/26/19 12:31 PM

Experiences brought on by Virtual Reality

I wanted to share an experience, a set of experiences really, that happened over a year ago. I thought that people might find the experiences interesting or amusing in the context that they were brought on through, of all things, technology.

Some context: My background is in Western Occultism, mostly Chaos Magick, and while I do have experience in meditation, it had never been in the forefront of my work. I do, however, love technology and gadgets, and I got into virtual reality.

Many of the experiences were thrilling and delightful: flying through the sky in the body of a bird, floating in a field of light without any body to speak of. But I suddenly hit a bit of a wall.

I had purchased a VR game that I thought would be a lot of fun. It was a game where you had to jump platform to platform in the sky and collect crystals. It seemed like the perfect light hearted game for me, but it didn't quite work out that way.

The minute I put on the headset and looked down, my body went into a full blown panic. It was so bad that, pardon the description, my feet were actually sweating. I was covered in cold sweat. But my mind kept saying, "What is this? You're standing on the ground, on the first floor of an apartment building. Why is this happening?" There was a full split between what my body was feeling and what my mind was thinking. This seemed almost "offensive" to me that this would be happening, so I decided to pursue this. My curiosity was peaked, and I needed to explore it more.