Where am I?

thumbnail
-- Timus --, modified 13 Years ago at 1/16/11 2:26 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 1/15/11 4:55 PM

Where am I?

First of all: What a great site, filled with tons of interesting and valuable posts! Thanks a lot to those people who keep it going.

Short intro: I'm now 46 years old and I've been meditating regularly for the last 16 years. I attended a lot of retreats (40 - 50, I guess, usually 1 week, mostly Zen style, for some time Vipassana too) but never made any remarkable progress. By the time I started to meditate I was fairly neurotic, which was a good part of the reason I got interested in that sort of stuff. Shortly after I started, the shit really hit the fan for about 2-3 years (including a nasty addiction). After some time all that "negativity" just drained out of my system and never came back (until now). I like to think that the meditation practice was the reason behind that, but I'm not sure. Although this period of time felt a lot like what is called Dark Night here, I don't think it was one. The main reason: as far as I can say, until now I've never crossed A&P-territory. (Apart form a drug induced experience (launched by an overdose of hashish cookies emoticon ) in which I "saw" the sensual world, especially sounds, consisting completely of waves. But that experience didn't leave a lasting impression.) And I have to admit that, reading the accounts here, I'm sort of frustrated and am questioning my skills and abilities. Nevertheless, I still have quite some faith in the process and decided a couple of months ago to switch back to Vipassana practice (noting) and to add some concentration practice to my meditation routine.

Right now my practice schedule looks like:
  • 40 minutes of concentration practice in the morning: Using the word "Buddho" as a mantra. I think it was Florian who wrote about it somewhere here and it sort of appealed to me.