what happened / where am I?

Jenny lomas, modified 13 Years ago at 2/27/11 10:15 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 2/27/11 10:15 AM

what happened / where am I?

I'm happy to have found this forum, and am also half way through reading MCTB which is engrossing!

I've been meditating about 2 years, though quite casually for the first 18 months doing only 30 mins daily, concentrating on the breath. I did 2 x 10 day vipassana retreats in 09. In Sept 2010 I did 3 months vipassana retreat at IMS and have been more serious about progressing since then. The 3 month retreat really brough on both my meditation - can easily get into access concentration now - and also experience of no self and impermenance on what felt like a meaningful level at the time (although since leaving the retreat, these experiences / insights funnily enough have faded).

Currently I am doing 45 mins meditation twice a day and I had mainly been doing Insight practise with noting, but since starting reading MCTB I've been concentrating just on the breath with an aspiration to experience first jhana. I can quite easily get to access concentration (my interpretation, this phrase wasn't actually used by the teachers at IMS) and after a short while the breath typically gets very subtle and almost disappears... also the feeling that "I" am breathing is gone, and breathing is just happening - though often i can sense rather than feel ithe breath; it's so subtle. At this point I usually naturally move to choiceless awareness and try and stay present, coming back to the breath or sounds when i get distracted by thoughts. On a "good" day I can stay more or less present for 45 mins, though many sits are still more like coming back over and over...