a more committed lay practice

thumbnail
Steve Katona, modified 4 Years ago at 12/10/19 5:54 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 12/10/19 5:54 PM

a more committed lay practice

Greetings,

This is a two-part query. Part one:

I'm a 78 yo widower in reasonably good health. I have a modest but adequate income. I have been practicing since 1989 and in the last 8 years exclusively Mahasi Vipassana. For the last 3 years, I have spent every third month on silent retreat at Tathagata Meditation Center mostly interviewing with Ven. U Thuzana, the abbot and past meditation master for ten years at the Malaysian Buddhist Meditation Centre in Penang, Malaysia.

That's enough to add some direction to whatever answers are offered. My feelings are not at stake here. I will say that practice is the most important thing in this life--if that is not clear.

I have experimented with living Eight Precepts in between formal retreats. I have the recurring thought that this would be a positive enhancement to my practice. Does anyone know of or is anyone reading this following such a lifestyle (for want of a better word)? If so, do you have any advice or comments?

Part two: I am a great admirer of Ven. Bhikkhu Analayo. I read somewhere the schedule he follows melding his scholarly efforts and his practice efforts. I have a vague recollection that his usual (when not on or leading a retreat) routine is one half-day scholarly work and one half-day formal practice.

If I was younger I would seriously consider ordination but monasteries do not want people in the last few years of their lives. Comments regarding this are solicited.

I would appreciate anything constructive anyone would like to offer. With much metta and the hope that this finds you well and content.
thumbnail
svmonk, modified 4 Years ago at 12/11/19 1:42 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 12/11/19 1:41 AM

RE: a more committed lay practice

Hi Steve,