Back pain due to meditation / 3rd nana?

Ethan N, modified 4 Years ago at 1/3/20 7:47 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 1/3/20 7:47 AM

Back pain due to meditation / 3rd nana?

Hi all! I've been dealing with persistent back pain and am pretty desperate for some advice.

A little context... I've been meditating for over 3 years now (mostly doing focus on the breath at the nose / belly). I've recently gotten to a point where I can focus on the rising and falling of the belly and after about 10 minutes, detect a subtle vibrating/flicking/pulsing quality to it at the rate of about 2 - 3 times per second. I can then tune into that vibration/flicking. (Is this impermanence? how should I practice with it?)

Recently, I've also been doing some focus on body sensations where I cover the whole body and try to feel the cloud of sensation as vividly as I can. I have had a handful to instances where I was sleeping or half asleep and suddenly the whole body felt really vivid like a cloud of tingling sensation. Some times the cloud of sensation will be flickering on and off at about 2 - 3 times per second. (Is this an A&P experience?)

Also, sometimes, I have weird muscle jerking where my arm or leg would spaz out. And sometimes it feels likes there energy current running up my leg making me want to shake it to release the tension (pretty much like restless leg syndrome). 

For the past 2.5 years, I've been having various back pain. It started because of an injury and I've been going to chiropractors, physical therapists, and massage therapists to treat it. It has helped but there is still persistent back pain in the upper back (trapezius, rhomboid, levator scapula, erectors). It has gotten to the point where I feel like there can't really be a physical cause of this pain anymore. So I suspect it might be due to the meditation.