Energetic event with possible reverberations

Ca I, modified 3 Years ago at 10/22/20 3:03 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 10/22/20 3:03 AM

Energetic event with possible reverberations

Hello,

A bit of background:

------------

I worked with mostly shamatha practices for about 2000 hours (maybe a bit under this). Tried noting practices and some kriya yoga on the side, but not to any considerable extent.

I'm currently doing an at-home course under the guidance of a Mahasi (Tong style) instructor. I've been doing about 1-2 hours a day of formal noting for almost 3 months.

----------

While meditating, I've been seeing a colored, slightly luminous disc (can go from purple to yellow to white). The instructor told me to note it until it goes away. Recently he pointed out that I might be shifting to the "rising-falling" too early, and not really staying with the visual phenomenon until it goes away on its own.

Last night I started noting the phenomenon with  "seeing, seeing" and it started to intensify, going from purple to white, becoming more luminous and filling the entire visual field. The sense of the body started becoming more fluid and spacey. At that point my narrative mind got excited and started to anticipate something. This made the effect regress.

I went back to rising-falling-sitting-touching, and very quickly, the colored disc appeared again. I started to note it, and I noticed the intention to see when the disc really changes. This caused the noting to get faster and faster and it felt like I was seeing successive snapshots of the disc appearing in front of the last closer and closer to my face or center of perception.