BobsUncle practice log

BobsUncle, modified 3 Years ago at 12/31/20 7:04 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/31/20 7:04 AM

BobsUncle practice log

I have been meditating off and on for 10 years.

I have been quite lazy with sitting meditation, partly due to physical aches when sitting which cause restlessness and I suppose I am a bit weak willed. Because of this I usually go on streaks where I sit everyday 30 minutes for 3-4 months and then stop meditating for 2-4 months, and then starting all over again. Once every 1 or 2 years I will do a 10 day silent retreat. These were Goenka type retreats. Due to my back I have problems sitting for more than a few hours per day. I have never had any significant insight experiences but I do think I maybe had an A&P experience earlier in life.

Since Sep 2019 I have gotten together more of a routine and have sat most days for 30 minutes on average. The majority of this time I tried TMI and struggled with it. I discovered that I had more stillness if I just stopped trying to do the TMI instructions, and instead just sat at peace with the breath. In these concentration based sits I think I am with the breath maybe 60% of the sit.

Around 2-3 months ago I changed to trying noting practices. So far I have tried Shinzen Youngs See Hear feel. It feels a bit complicated and clunky and I find myself missing a lot of sensations or experiences because im trying to figure out what category it falls into. I am now trying some more open Mahasi instructions.   

I have noticed some changes over the last 18 months. When walking I can stay with the sensations of the feet for quite some time. A few years ago I couldn't go 4-5 steps without losing track and day dreaming. Shinzens system has helped me a bit in opening up some parts of experience I had never even noticed before. I was never noting "see in" experiences before, and didn't realise how much I was doing it.