Vegetarian/Vegan Theravada monasteries in Asia

Jonathan Saar, modified 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 1:38 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 1:38 AM

Vegetarian/Vegan Theravada monasteries in Asia

Hello,
I wish to ordain in a Theravada monastery, I have a lot of good experience in Mahasi style but also with other systems. My main practice monastery is Wat Chom Thong in north Thailand, that is great place for practice, but as I was born vegeterain and became vegan many yeas ago. I find it difficult to stay in a place that its diet based much on animal products. I am looking for other good places to ordain, preferbley in Thailand but otherwise any other place in Asia that has a serious practice and also respect for nature and animals. If anybody has as well good experience of monasteries in Europe or other places in the westerd world I will be also very happy to hear your experience.
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 1:45 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 1:45 PM

RE: Vegetarian/Vegan Theravada monasteries in Asia

Here are some resources to review.  
https://placestomeditate.wordpress.com/
Wolf's Guide to Dharma Retreats & Teachings - Google Docs
Jonathan Saar, modified 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 10:53 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 10:53 PM

Thank you very much Mike and Noah, you gave me  both very useful information. 
Jonathan Saar, modified 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 11:05 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 2/24/21 11:05 PM

by the way. I was told by some of teachers that the practice involved Jhana in Mayanamar is good, but it always come with caution not to be trapped by the Jhana states. My mahasi states usually recommend to return to notting and not to develop the practice into absorption into Jhanas. However from my own personal experience in the yogic tradition, I feel that developement of Jhana can be useful as long as it is only a stage in the practice
Jonathan Saar, modified 3 Years ago at 2/25/21 5:56 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 2/25/21 5:56 AM