My path so far

thumbnail
Stefan Stefan, modified 2 Years ago at 3/29/21 1:15 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 3/29/21 1:13 AM

My path so far

Hi friends, 

I've been a long-time lurker here and on Reddit's r/streamentry for a while. Finally decided to make an account and introduce myself, share my story, and see if any of it resonates.

A little about me: I'm a psych student. Long-time contemplative scientist, albeit somewhat unwilling at times, unknowing most of the time, and only recently connected to it properly. Throughout childhood, I'd have very unitive experiences of my being submerged within reality. I'd watch myself watching my family at dinner. And some other times, I'd have what I called to myself "zooming", where my consciousness would sorta "rush" out of my head vertically, while looking down, and escape into the vast cosmos, to reveal my total insignificance to the size of the universe, but also the unique part of my being. Obviously, these thoughts from my childhood are backward-rationalised with my adult thinking processes, but it took a long time to realise what these experiences really meant. I used to think I was just a weird kid. Now I know I'm a born contemplative with an inclination to seeing things in certain ways. As a young adult, I spent most of my time studying politics and philosophy, neither of which gave me real answers. I got an MA in PoliSci, and really disliked the work culture I found myself in. In Jan 2020, I had some very strong mystical experiences from certain entheogens. It profoundly changed my life and brought me to connect to my innermost path of being a contemplative, along with a seeker and psychologist (which I'm studying to become now).